Boundary County Farm Bureau

What is the Idaho Farm Bureau Federation?

Idaho Farm Bureau Federation is a free, independent, non-governmental, voluntary organization of farm and ranch families united for the purpose of analyzing their problems, and formulating action to achieve educational improvement, economic opportunity, and social advancement and thereby, to promote the national well-being.

Farm Bureau is local, county, state, national, and international in its scope and influence, and is non-partisan, non-sectarian, and non-secret in character.

Idaho Farm Bureau was originally organized in 1939 as an independent farm organization. It was chartered under the laws of the state of Idaho in May of 1939 and maintains status as a “501” (C) (5) non-profit corporation.

Idaho Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) affiliated with the American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) on September 15, 1939, when the first cooperative agreement was signed between the two organizations.

Each county Farm Bureau in Idaho is individually organized and chartered under Idaho non-profit statutes, and thus are legal entities within themselves. Working arrangements with the Idaho Farm Bureau Federation are provided for under a Memorandum of Agreement entered into with each county Farm Bureau.

One of the provisions of this agreement appoints the county Farm Bureau as a fiduciary agent for collection of the state and national portion of the member dues. The Idaho Farm Bureau Federation, along with the other 49 State Farm Bureaus and Puerto Rico, is operating under a similar Memorandum of Agreement with the American Farm Bureau Federation.

Each of the organized county Farm Bureaus is comprised of a Board of Directors. Bylaws governing county Farm Bureaus will vary from county to county as each is a separate entity. The board members are farmers and/or ranchers with each deriving a majority of their income from production agriculture. The county board is the governing body of the county Farm Bureau and is accountable to the membership within that county.